Skip to Main Content
True peace is not merely the absence of tension; it is the presence of justice
-Martin Luther King, Jr.
Latest News
[ view News / Roster ]

Drew County Sheriff's Office

Drew County was established November 26, 1846, and was named for the third governor of Arkansas, Thomas S. Drew. Monticello is the area's only urban center and is the county seat. Other incorporated towns in Drew County are Wilmar, Tillar, Jerome, and Winchester.

Drew County is located in the Mississippi River Valley on gentle rolling hills just west of the flat delta land in the southeastern part of Arkansas. The county is nearly square, extending 27 miles north/south and approximately 30 miles east/west with an area of 836 square miles and a population of 18,723. Drew County has experienced one of the most rapid economic expansions of any county in the state as a result of growth of the county's various companies, industries, and organizations.

Key economic players in the county include the University of Arkansas at Monticello, Maxwell Hardwood Flooring, SeaArk Marine, War Eagle Boats, Drew Foam, and Hood Packaging. Agriculture also plays a big part in the county’s economy. Agricultural products include rice, soybeans, cotton, tomatoes, cattle, hogs, catfish, and minnow farming.

Crime Tip Hotline
Submit Via Email